Legislation # 06-0731 Enactment Number none
Type Resolution Effective Date none
Introduction Date 12/13/2006
Title In Recognition of Dr. Mary T. Christian
Legislation History 06-0731
DateNotice Of ActionDescription
12/13/2006 Approved
12/13/2006 Presented by Councilman Paige V. Washington, Jr. Additional information was provided by Harriett Storm and the public was invited to attend a public tribute to take place on Sunday, January 14, 2007, beginning at 4 p.m. at the Hampton Roads Convention Center.
12/3/2006 Received By Clerk's Office
View Attachments 06-0731
Legislation Text 06-0731


City of Hampton, Virginia


22 Lincoln Street

Hampton, VA 23669



File Number: 06-0731


Enactment Number: -


In Recognition of Dr. Mary T. Christian


WHEREAS, Mary T. Christian, born in Hampton, Virginia, was educated in the local public schools; and


WHEREAS, in 1955, Mary T. Christian was awarded her B. S. degree in Elementary Education from Hampton Institute (now Hampton University), with highest honors, and continued her education, receiving her M. A. degree from Columbia University in 1960, with a major in Speech and Drama; and


WHEREAS, in 1967, Mary T. Christian earned her Ph.D. at Michigan State University, with a major in Elementary Education and cognate in Special Education; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Christian began her professional career as a teacher at Aberdeen Elementary School in Hampton, Virginia and taught there until she accepted a position as an Instructor at Hampton Institute in 1960; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Christian is married to Wilbur Christian and through that union has two daughters and one son (deceased); and


WHEREAS, for more than twenty-five years, Dr. Christian taught at Hampton University in the School of Education, becoming Dean of the School of Education in 1980; and


WHEREAS, in 1989, Dr. Christian retired as Dean of the School of Education at Hampton University and is presently a Professor Emeritus; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Christian was elected to the Virginia General Assembly, 92nd District, in 1986 and retired in 2004 after serving as a member of the House of Delegates for eighteen years; and


WHEREAS, during her tenure, Dr. Christian was a member of the following committees: Appropriations; Conservation and Natural Resources; Education; Labor and Commerce; Militia and Police; and Rules; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Christian has been active in the community, having served on the Hampton City School Board; Board of Directors, NationsBank; and the Community Advisory Board, Junior League of Hampton Roads; and


WHEREAS, at the present time, Dr. Christian is an Honorary Board Member, Patient Advocate Foundation; Board of Directors, National Kidney Foundation; Member, Hampton City School Investment Panel; Visiting Specialist, Jamestown 2007; Board of Directors, Y. H. Thomas Community Center, Incorporated; Board of Directors, Youth Challenge; Board of Directors, Peninsula Association for Sickle Cell Anemia; and Co-Chair, Coalition for the Preservation of Virginia School for the Deaf, Blind and Multi-Disabled in Hampton, Virginia; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Christian is a member of First Baptist Church, Hampton, Virginia, and participates in the Christian Fellowship Choir, the Womens Auxiliary and is Chair of the Constitution Advisory Committee;


NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Hampton, Virginia, that Dr. Mary T. Christian be, and hereby is, recognized and commended for her many contributions to the community and the Commonwealth of Virginia;


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be spread upon the minutes of the December 13, 2006 meeting of the City Council of the City of Hampton, Virginia, and that an appropriate copy be signed by the Mayor, attested by the Clerk, and presented to the Honorable Dr. Mary T. Christian.


Adopted at the regular meeting of the City Council of the City of Hampton, Virginia held on December 13, 2006.




Signed by ____________________________ Date _________________

Ross A. Kearney, II, Mayor





Attested by ____________________________ Date _________________

Katherine K. Glass

Clerk of the Council