Last Publish on 10/27/2011 11:54:37 AM
City Of Hampton, VA
22 Lincoln Street
Hampton, Va 23669
City Council - Civic Recognition & Public Comment Period
Council Chambers, 8th Floor, City Hall
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
5:30:29 PM
Ross A. Kearney, II, Will Moffett, Joseph H. Spencer, II, Christopher G. Stuart, Donnie R. Tuck, George E. Wallace, Molly Joseph Ward, Mayor
Mary Bunting, City Manager
Cynthia Hudson, City Attorney
Katherine K. Glass, CMC, Clerk of Council

Call to Order / Roll Call
  Mayor Ward called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m. All members of the City Council were present.
Invocation - Vice Mayor George E. Wallace
  Vice Mayor Wallace gave the invocation.
Pledge of Allegiance
Ceremonial Items - "Spotlight on Citizens"
1.11-0340Presentation of VA Senate Joint Resolution 417 from the 2011 Regular Session to Hardy W. Cash, Sr.
ACTION: Presented by Senator John Miller who read Senate Joint Resolution 417.
2.11-0343Proclamation in Recognition of the 50th Anniversary of Pembroke Construction Company, Inc.
ACTION: Read and Presented by Councilman Joseph H. Spencer, II to Thomas Hunnicutt.
3.11-0339Resolution in Recognition of Angela Lee Leary
ACTION: Read and Presented by Mayor Molly Joseph Ward to Angela Lee Leary. Mrs. Leary was also recognized by Hampton Ecumenical Lodging and Provisions and the Buckroe Improvement League.
ACTION: Adopted - The Mayor called a short recess at 5:58 until 6:15 p.m. to give those present an opportunity to speak with Mrs. Leary.

MOVER: Councilmember Joseph H. Spencer, II.
SECONDER: Councilmember Ross A. Kearney, II.
Public Comment
  Connie Soles, Edwin Boone and Carole Garrison spoke in appreciation of Mrs. Angela Leary's service to Hampton.

Chanda Epps spoke about Hampton City Schools and the Watch D.O.G.S. program volunteers.

Gaylene Kanoyton spoke on behalf of Hampton Watch about the Hampton School Board and her desire to elect the Chairman of School Board at large.

David Braunbeck thanked the members of Council who were able to attend the Mayor’s Committee on Disabled luncheon.

Frank Ottofaro spoke on the taking of his property on Pine Chapel Road.

Jeffrey Rathbone, Cynthia Smith, Crawford Hammond, and Dale Smith spoke in opposition to the City's possible acquisition of the Harbor Square Apartments.
  The meeting was adjourned at 6:46 p.m.