Last Publish on 12/12/2013 4:36:17 PM
City Of Hampton, VA
22 Lincoln Street
Hampton, Va 23669
City Council - Public Comment Period
Council Chambers, 8th Floor, City Hall
Wednesday, December 11, 2013
6:00 PM
Linda Curtis, W. H. "Billy" Hobbs, Jr., Will Moffett, Chris Snead, Christopher G. Stuart, Donnie R. Tuck, George E. Wallace, Mayor
Mary Bunting, City Manager
Cynthia Hudson, City Attorney
Katherine K. Glass, CMC, Clerk of Council
not set, not set

Call to Order / Roll Call
  Mayor Wallace called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. All members of Council were present except for Councilman Tuck who arrived at 6:14 p.m.
Public Comment
  Frank J. Ottofaro, Jr. spoke about the Ottofaro case. David Dietrich spoke on various constitutional issues and on Council policies. John Ware thanked Council for their service.

Kelly Townsend, James Zaid, Jenna Spracher, and David Haywood spoke in support of the BMX track at Gosnold's Hope Park.

Hugh Bassette recognized Jim Wilson, Director of Parks and Recreation, as the Northampton Civic League's "City Employee of the Year."

Gail Roberts-House, Brother Ankh, and Gwendolyn Smith spoke critically of members of Council and City staff not attending a recent event honoring past Mayors of Hampton.

Rudy Langford expressed his condolences to Mayor Wallace on his brother's recent passing.

Edwin Boone spoke on general topics.\

The City Manager, Mary Bunting, reported back on some of the issues raised by citizens tonight.

Following public comment, Ray Edward Brown, II; Rebecca Renee Mullis; Nakari Davan Parries; and Larry Eugene Walker; students from Hampton High School shared three vocal selections including one sung in Korean. These students were lead by Charles "Dean" William Shinn, Jr., Director of Choirs at Hampton High School. They represented the City of Hampton in Anyang, South Korea, Hampton's sister city, on Anyang's 40th anniversary.